We have all heard of the adjective idyllic describing something “extremely happy, peaceful, or picturesque.” But a few years ago I learned of the noun form, idyll. 

What is notable is the one little difference in the nouns definition, “an extremely happy, peaceful, or picturesque episode or scene, typically an idealized or unsustainable one.” While I know not all will be perfect (that unsustainable part), why not chase after happiness, peace, and beauty? This is exactly what I want for my days.

Less stress – Less busy – Less messy – Less frustration – Less of the world

More peace – More rest – More beauty – More joy – More Jesus

Does the word of God support this goal?

More Jesus– Set your affection on things above, not on things on the earth.- Colossians 3:2

More Peace– These things I have spoken unto you, that in me ye might have peace. In the world ye shall have tribulation: but be of good cheer; I have overcome the world. John 16:33

More Beauty– He hath made every thing beautiful in his time: Ecclesiastes 3:11

More Joy– Let the heavens rejoice, and let the earth be glad; let the sea roar, and the fulness thereof. Let the field be joyful, and all that is therein: then shall all the trees of the wood rejoice Psalm 96:21-12

So while we won’t achieve the perfect peace, beauty, and joy – the idyll- until we arrive one day in heaven, why not pursue after Jesus and His peace, beauty, joy and love now? In this space I am CHASING IDYLL.

Leave a comment

Trending

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started